Oyster Sauce and Hoisin Sauce

Gf-Zing! received a request to find a gluten free Oyster Sauce and Hoisin Sauce in March 2006.  We have updated the links for 2011, and we remind our readers that we don’t verify the gluten free status of products.

For Hoisin, you might consider the Premier Japan brand of Wheat-Free Hoisin Sauce.  It is not the same texture as wheat-based hoisin sauces, and it is neither as thick nor as dark. See the Edwards & Sons Trading Company website regarding this product. We rely on the manufacturer to state the content. Please be sure to verify that any products you consume are safe for your situation. Gf-Zing! does not verify the gluten free status of products.

http://www.edwardandsons.com/specialdiets_celiac.itml (link updated 2011 Feb 23)

For the Oyster Sauce: You might consider the Lee Kum Kee brand for oyster sauce but  NOT for their hoisin sauce (see their website.)

Assuming you don’t want either 5 or 55 gallon drums of oyster sauce, then the Lee Kum Kee’s Choy Sun oyster sauce (yellow label) and the Panda Brand green label are the most likely candidates on their website (they make other kinds too, so it is important to check the bottle at the store.) Things change often in the food world, so you have to keep checking to see if they change their ingredients. Gf-Zing! does not verify the gluten free status of products.

http://us.lkk.com/faq (link updated 2011 Feb 23)

Note: Here at Gf-Zing! we do not verify the gluten-free status of any product. We rely on the manufacturers to declare the status of their products. It is up to the reader to check labels, and to verify that the products they consume are safe for them to use.

2 comments to Oyster Sauce and Hoisin Sauce

  • Mi

    What is the difference between Hoisen Sauce and Oyster Sauce?

    Thank you,

    • ABD

      Hi Mi –

      Hoisin sauce is a thick brown, somewhat sweet sauce with anise notes that is used as a seasoning and as a condiment. You will find it next door to Peking Duck, and also accompanying Vietnamese Pho soup. It can be added to stir fried chicken and peppers to make a simple and delicious stir-fry. Most brands contain gluten.
      Oyster sauce is also thick and brown, but not sweet. It is used as a seasoning in Chinese cooking. A tablespoon or two adds great depth of flavor to stir-fry dishes. Sadly, most brands of oyster sauce also contain gluten. Interestingly, not all of the brands of oyster sauce actually contain oysters!

Leave a Reply

  

  

  

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>